top of page
Ashton Dain

BACK TO SCHOOL LOOKBOOK: OUTFIT & HAIRSTYLE IDEAS

Can you believe it's almost time for school? This means studying and getting up early. It's hard to look put together when you have little time to get ready in the morning for school. So in this post, I'm teaming up with another kc blogger: Caroline Steele to share outfit ideas, advice, more categories. In both of our posts, we share 3 outfit ideas that match our style and feel are school appropriate! Caroline's blog features a makeup routine as well a her own outfit Ideas. My blog features my easy yet cute go-to hairstyles for school. I have another post coming out next week talking about organization tips for school. Caroline's links will be down below!

Caroline's Blog Post// Caroline's Website//thecarolife.wixsite.com Caroline's Instagram//@carolines.blog

Also huge thanks to Katie Lockyear! She took all of these amazing outfit pictures! She has an Instagram account for her photography! Hit her up If you're looking for a great KC photographer! All of the pics from her were edited with her wanderlust preset pack! This pack consists of 3 presets and retailed for $35. They are linked below for purchase! If you like the way my feed has been edited recently make sure to check these presets out because I used them and will continue to use them! If you have any questions I linked Katie's info down below!

Katie's Preset Pack//gumroad.com Katie's Instagram/@ktlockyearphoto Katie's Email//ktlockyearphotography@gmail.com

DENIM BOTTOMS//KNOTTED PONYTAIL

Top//Esty(Linked Similar) Jeans//Forever 21(Target OOS Linked Similar) Sneakers//Superga Necklace//Kendra Scott Watch//JORD watches

Denim, denim, denim! Who doesn't go back to school and wear denim shorts or jeans? Although this style has been in for so long it's a classic and will continue to be an easy go-to. But this also means an outfit can get boring, so I am sharing how I keep my denim on trend. I wanted to start off with a high waisted mom pair of either shorts or pants. I found these awesome high-waisted mom jeans at target for less than $30 last fall! A way to continue to look on trend is to get cheap pairs of jeans that are in style. At the moment embroidery, pearls, wide leg, mom, and frayed jeans are in style! Use your target's and forever 21's to find these cool pieces to spice up a basic tee! The tee that I'm wearing is from my New York trip! I linked a similar one but it was $5 at one of the stands in Times Square! To complete this vintage-inspired look I added my white sneakers!

This hairstyle is my personal favorite! It takes under a minute to complete and makes a ponytail have more texture to it! Make this messy or chic you can create an all year long hairstyle that never gets old! Follow these easy steps to create this look:

1. Separate your hair into 3 equal sections.

2. Tie the middle section in a loose ponytail

3. Grab the remaining sections and tie into a knot right above the ponytail

4. Tie the two sections in a small clear elastic right underneath the ponytail to hide it.

5. Grab small sections in the front to frame the face!

BLOUSES//HALF UP BUN

Top//Lime Lush(Linked website) Shorts//American Eagle(OOS but black is still available) Sandals//Free People Earrings//Target Necklace//Kendra Scott Watch//JORD watches

On the days you want to look nicer blouses are always a great option! I wear blouses probably 2 out of the 5 weekdays. They are so easy to style and can be worn so many different ways. My favorite way to wear blouses for warmer weather is with a good pair of denim shorts and sandals. A huge trend this past year has been mustard yellow! I wore this blouse in that color with denim shorts. The white shorts makes the yellow pop but all denim looks great with yellow! For shoes, I wanted to wear sandals because they are comfortable and easy to wear to school! I added my favorite pair from free people in this pinkish-purple color! I then finished off this look by adding white statement earrings and my everyday jewelry.

My second hairstyle is this super easy half up that takes less than 5 minutes! This can also be done on all hair types and lengths! To achieve this hairstyle follow these steps:

1.Divide your hair nto two secctions and pull top layer from the temples to the crown of the head.

2. Tie off as if you were to do a normal ponyatil,but on the last loop pull half way through.

3. Loosen up the bun by pulling it up gently.

4. Pull out pieces around your face to frame it!

DRESSES & SKIRTS//FRENCH BRAID HALF UP-HALF DOWN

Dress//Lulus(Linked Similar) Sneakers//Superga Necklace//Kendra Scott Watch//JORD watches

My last outfit is the easiest and most comfortable outfit in my opinion. A super simple outfit for school is a casual dress. Get a couple in your closet and you can dress up, dress down, and layer for colder months. In my first look, I wore this purple tie front dress, which is super light and perfect for the warmer weather! If you live in a colder climate or if your dress had spaghetti straps, wear a jean jacket over top for an extra layer! I styled this purple dress with my white platform supergas. These shoes are ideal for school because they're very stylish but super comfy to walk around and learn the whole day! Dress up this look by wearing chunky sandals and statement earrings! Lastly, I styled this look with the simple jewelry of my JORD watch and a small Kendra Scott necklace!

The hairstyle I wanted to pick for this outfit is this french braid half up-half down. This is a great spin on your basic half up ponytail or bun! Follow these steps below to get this look:

1. Start a regular french braid by dividing your hair into 3 sections.

2. Weave the sections under each other, and at the same time add small sections to them (I linked the same youtube video I used when I was learning how to french braid click here to watch on how to french braid)

3. After you get to the crown of your head tie off in a ponytail or a bun.

4. Pull pieces out in the front to frame your face!

Hope you guys loved this back to school lookbook! Remember to check out Caroline's blog for her lookbook. Also, Katie Lockyear for her presets!

Thanks so much for reading,

Ashton Dain

bottom of page