top of page
Ashton Dain

How to Style: Winter Jackets

During the late fall and winter season coats are essential for everyday use. I share five jackets that are trendy and with various colors to explain styling. Coats are perfect staple pieces to the wardrobe as they can be paired to complete the look or add more style to an outfit! Also comment what new How to Styles you want to see for the holidays or for winter!

Naval peacoats

A huge trend this season are blazers and naval peacoats. I styled this Maroon peacoat with a neutral outfit. Classic blue denim jeans are perfect with these types of coats as they add color but a casual option. Then I added my new leopard print booties as another pop to the outfit. These booties come in multiple colors! To finish off this statement outfit I added a white blouse to not distract from the coat. Other options for this coat is a striped blouse underneath and a pair of black or maroon booties to clean up the look. Also plaid blazers are trending and go perfect with classic denim and black for top and booties.

Suede jackets

Suede jackets have also been in for winter and it's months leading into it. Other colors trending are dusty pink and a classic rich tan! I styled this forest green jacket with tan booties, dark wash jeans and a warm toned cream sweater. Another option is a tan sweater. The trended jacket colors are prefect with either a black or tan route! See how I styled the jacket with black OTK boots and more details on the jacket here!

Fur coats

Fur jackets and coats have been trending for the past couple of years! Although this type of coat seems to bold there are many new options for everyone's style. I picked to style the boldest coat for variety in this weeks How to Style. This ombré blue fur coat (Not available anymore but from Venus) is gorgoues with an all black outfit. I wore a thin black long sleeve, which you can find anywhere for $10, high waisted black jeans, and my black over the knee boots. Another way to style this type of coat is with straight leg or mom jeans with black booties and a black sweater. More fur coats for your style could be a furry bomber or an oversized teddy peacoat which I personally love and want to get!

Leather jackets

Any leather jacket is a must have staple for any fashion winter wardrobe. Maroon is a great alternative for black if you want a more bold look. Also details with lace ups and embroidery can add lots of deminsion to outfits! The leather jacket I chose to style is this simple black leather (Not available)with a pop of lace up sleeves! An everyday look is perfect with leather jackets! I paired mine with my light wash mom jeans and black booties. Since the outfit was mostly plain I added a red crossbody purse! For a more trendy outfit pair the jacket with plaid pants and a basic tee with black booties! Another awesome way to style the jacket, which I will do in the future, is with basic denim jeans with maroon booties and a maroon tight turtleneck top!

Longline coats

Another large trend this season are long wrap coats. Colors trending are grey, tan, brown, and statement colors like red or dark orange. I decided to pick up a long tan wrap coat as it can be paired with many outfits and essential warmth for the colder months. Stripes look amazing with this tan color so I pared this blue striped top. A substitute for stripes are statement colored sweaters like red! Light wash denim jeans to be paired with the coat. As the striped tee dressed down the coat I added white sneakers to complete. Other great ways to style this wrap coat is with an all black chic outfit, a low bun, or with some blue denim jeans.


bottom of page